Massachusetts law allows residents of the Commonwealth to grow marijuana at home. There are a few things you should know about Home Cultivation.
- You must be 21 years of age or older.
- You may grow up to six plants in your primary residence. Be sure you harvest your plants on a cycle, so that you never have more than six plants flowering at a time.
- If more than one individual in the residence is 21 years or older, the maximum number of plants is 12.
- If you are a Registered Qualifying Patient (Patient) of the Medical Use of Marijuana Program Online System (Online System), you are permitted to grow enough marijuana to yield a 60-day supply for personal, medical use. A 60-day supply is defined as enough to provide 10 ounces of usable marijuana.
- If you rent your home, keep in mind that landlords can legally restrict cannabis cultivation. Check your lease—and if you’re unsure, ask your landlord.
- The plants must be grown in an area that is equipped with a lock or security device.
- The plants cannot be visible from a public place without the use of binoculars, aircraft, or other optical aids.
- You cannot manufacture at-home marijuana or hemp by means of any liquid or gas, other than alcohol, that has a flashpoint below 100 degrees Fahrenheit.
Responsible Home Cultivation
Lower Risk of Electrical Fires
Growing cannabis plants indoors often requires high-powered lamps, temperature controls, and expanded levels of ventilation which can overload electrical circuits and cause fires. To lower your risk of electrical fires, consult a licensed electrician to ensure you are following all relevant fire codes.
For more information on fire safety and cannabis in your home, click here to view a flyer from the Massachusetts Department of Fire Services.
Cannabis Oil Extraction
When making concentrates, extracting cannabis oil with flammable materials, such as propane and butane, is illegal. These materials release vapors that can easily trigger explosions. Consider alternative extraction methods.
When making edibles at home, such as cannabis-infused beverages or baked goods, it can be challenging to distribute cannabis evenly throughout a product. This can make it difficult to control potency and dosage of the edible.
Keep Kids and Pets Safe
If you have any marijuana products in your home, be sure to store them away in a locked storage container and out of reach of children and pets.
A violation of Massachusetts home cultivation laws is subject to a fine of up to $300 and forfeiture of the marijuana. Here’s a breakdown of the penalties for unauthorized cultivation:
- Home Cultivation visible from a public place without the use of binoculars, aircraft or other optical aids. Civil penalty of no more than $300 + forfeiture of the marijuana.
- An individual 21 years or older found cultivating more than six (6) marijuana plants, but not exceeding 12 plants. Civil penalty of not more than $100 + forfeiture of the unauthorized amount of marijuana.
- An individual 18-20 years old (unless a Patient with a Medical Use of Marijuana registration card) found cultivating 12 marijuana plants or less. Civil penalty of not more than $100 + completion of a drug awareness program.
- An individual under 18 years old found cultivating 12 marijuana plants or less. Civil penalty of not more than $100 + completion of a drug awareness program + notification of parent or legal guardian.
- An individual under 17 years old found cultivating 12 marijuana plants or less. Civil penalty of not more than $100 + completion of a drug awareness program + notification of parent or legal guardian. Failure to complete drug awareness program within 1 year of offense may be basis for delinquency proceedings.
Still have questions about Home Cultivation?
Contact us at Commission@CCCMass.com or 774-415-0200.